Circle FAQ (Spoilers)

Warning: This page may contain spoilers for books set in the Circle Universe.


Regarding continuity and Briar, Evvy, and Rosethorn
After Briar, Evvy, and Rosethorn leave Chammur in Street Magic, they got to Yanjing, and after that, Gyongxe, first home of the Living Circle temples, where they are caught up in the trauma of conquest on a grand scale. Those events will be the subject of Battle Magic, the next Circle book about any of the original four.

Once Briar, Evvy, and Rosethorn return to Emelan, Briar goes to Namorn with Sandry, Daja, and Tris in The Will of the Empress. Evvy lives at Discipline. When Rosethorn is called to investigate tree die-off on one of the Battle Islands, she takes Evvy with her. What happens then is the subject of Melting Stones, the first book about any of the four’s students.

I hope that straightens out the time line. The time line goes:

  1. Yanjing
  2. Summersea
  3. Namorn and Battle Islands

The Will of the Empress and Melting Stones happen roughly in the same time period.